Up ] Canada Day 2002 & 2003 ] [ Canada Day 2004 & 2005 ] Canada Day 2006 & 2007 ] Canada Day 2008 ] CD 2009 ] Canada Day 2010 ] CD 2011 ] CD 2012 ] CD 2013 ] CD 2014 ] CD 2015 ] CD 2016 ] CD 2017 ]


6th Canada Day Celebrations in 2004


On this occasion, President Mobeen Khaja said “We want to be the first ones in the country to celebrate Canada Day.  This celebration is a reaffirmation of our being Canadian.  Our diversity is well reflected on this occasion as more communities are participating.” 


Dr. Nurjehan Mawani, C.M., was the Keynote Speaker and also one of the award recipients.  She spoke about “Diversity, Civil Society and Pluralism” a topic close to her heart.


Awards were presented to the following individuals: 


DR. NURJEHAN MAWANI, C.M., for her lifetime achievements and outstanding contributions in the public service sector, especially her pioneering work on women refugees and gender-related persecution which has brought Canada international recognition, and her strong commitment to excellence, and her volunteer work.


DR. ABDUL FATTAH ELZAWI, MD.  FRCP.  ABIM., for his achievements in the field of medicine, particularly his research, and his dedicated volunteer work in serving the Muslim and Arab communities, and his passion for establishing an Arab Community Centre.


DR. SHAKIR ULLAH HUSAIN SHEIKH, M.D., for his volunteer work in serving the Ottawa Muslim community for more than 30 years, his compassion towards others, especially the weak and needy, his guidance, spiritual knowledge and the religious services he has rendered on many occasions.


COUNCILLOR SUZAN HALL for her commitment and long-standing service to the community in Etobicoke, including the Muslim community, as a Trustee, Chair and Vice Chair of the School Board, and Municipal Councillor.


MR. MOHAMED-BAQIR ALLOO in recognition of his dedicated volunteer work in serving the Ithna-Asheri community for many years, especially as an educator, his knowledge and wisdom that have helped many on numerous occasions.


MS. YASMIN RATANSI for her volunteer work for many years, especially her dedication to promoting peace, harmony and better understanding among various communities, as well as her long time passion to hold public office.   Ms. Ratansi was elected as M.P. in the recent Federal election.


MR. MUSTAALI KANCHWALA for his volunteer work in serving his community, his compassion and dedication to helping others, especially his focus on youth.  


Click here for photos.




Award recipients at the  7th Annual Canada Day Celebrations were: 

The York Regional Police was recognized for “the difference the police force is making, under the leadership of Chief Armand P. La Barge, with its innovative and forward looking policies for keeping neighborhoods, streets and schools safe in York Region”.  Many officers from the York Regional Police surprised Chief Armand La Barge by attending the event.


Professor Ibrahim Dincer was recognized for “his research in fuel cell technology to power vehicles in an effort to find an alternative to gasoline in order to cut down on pollution and greenhouse gas emissions for a cleaner environment and clean air”.


Miss Dilzayn Panjwani, a grade 12 exceptional student at Branksome Hall and one of the 30 winners of the “National Award Scholars2005” by the Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation, was recognized for her “exceptional achievements in studies while pursuing several extra-curricular activities, and for giving the community the gift of her time as a volunteer, in Canada and abroad”.


Durham Regional Police Service was recognized for “the excellent community service the police force is providing with the ongoing partnerships with various diverse communities in the region, and for its commitment to keeping Durham Region a safe place to work and live”. Deputy Chiefs Rod Piukkala and Chuck Mercier received the award on behalf of the police force.


Mr. Ahmed Hussen was recognized for his leadership and outstanding contributions in reviving and rejuvenating the Regent Park neighborhood, and his ability to build bridges between people”. 


Jessica LeCroy, Consul General for the United States, said that this was her first Canada Day celebration since her posting here.  She was delighted when the Association wished her and her colleague, Nicholas Giacobbe, a very happy 4th of July and presented her with a magnificent flower arrangement.  


Deputy Chiefs Rod Piukkala & Chuck Mercier of Durham 

Regional Police receiving plaque from Mobeen Khaja.

Chief Armand La Barge with York Regional Police officers

 receiving award.                                                                         

Dilshann Panjwani leading the National Anthem with police officers. Sponsors and some of Association's officers cutting the cake.